Humor

Your call is very important to us. 

Hold music is never ideal but the kind I hate the most is when they interrupt themselves every few seconds to tell me I’m on hold.


What? Oh wow! Thanks for letting me know. I had no idea what was going on. I thought I was just sitting here, with the phone pressed to my ear, idly listening to the rusty, metallic, music box version of Swan Lake simply for my own amusement.


Oh! That’s right. I was waiting to speak to someone. Im so glad they told me that. And what else? They appreciate me and my call. They will answer my call in the order it was received. Glory be! They still appreciate me, even after all this time I’ve been sitting here. That’s good. That’s so nice to hear. 


I feel like they 100% do this to annoy people into giving up and hanging up the phone. I refuse. I will wait for ever. Though they do make it as unpleasant as possible. The music they choose is alienating enough but the constant interruptions are the worst because for the briefest of seconds, you actually believe someone is answering your call. I feel so excited and relieved to finally be able to talk to someone but no, it’s just a recording reminding me what exactly it is that I am doing and giving me a sense of false hope that someone is dillegently working to get to me. 


I wonder what sort of brainstorming went into this concept of interrupting the hold music. Who was the test group and what was their feedback? “I like how they let me know every thirty seconds what is going on. I so often forget what the hell i am doing.”


For me it’s like I was just getting into the song. Or more likely, I had just got to the point where I was able to tune out the song. Then the line kicks on, I think they are going to answer me. Then they hit me with their prerecorded bullshit and right back to hell’s playlist I go. 


Who needs this? I’ll admit, my mind wanders and occasionally I may walk away from my account number or payment method or whatever it is I need to complete my call but I have never been so out of it that I needed to be reminded that I was in the phone and not at a concert for the tone deaf and lame. 

I don’t know. It just bothers me. Does anyone find it helpful? Let me know in the comment section. What is your most annoying hold situation? Do you believe that they still appreciate you after 45 minutes? Do you imagine that all the customer service techs are sitting around talking to each other and playing on their cell phones the way that I imagine they are? 

2 thoughts on “Your call is very important to us. ”

  1. I always put the phone on speaker and make sure I have something to do. For instance, the other day I was looking for some computer tech help and was able to read “War and Peace” and “The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich” while waiting. Who knew people like to kill each other so much? Thanks Dell.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

