Humor

The first few months of blogging. 

I’ve only been blogging for a few months. I thought I would write a post about the first few months as a blogger cause I’m meta AF. 


So far I don’t feel like it’s going so well. I think it’s been about three months and I only have 15 followers and two of them are me from a different blog. But that’s the thing. I’ve had other blogs. I’ve been on other blog sites and this is the closet I’ve ever got to having any followers. So maybe this is embarrassing but I’m proud of myself. 


Every time I start a blog. I design it (megerly) and I write posts. Sometimes I write dozens of posts but I never publish anything. I may put something up for and hour or so. Maybe two things. Then I take them down. I had another blog on WordPress, I never posted anything. Well, I posted one thing. The title was “Will I Ever Post Anything Here?” And the one word of text was: No. 

This is not my first rodeo. 

This time I told myself, I’m just going to post this shit. It’s not going to be perfect. It’s not even going to be decent all the time. That’s not important. 


What is important is that I am posting something. I’m practicing. I’ll get better over time. In the meantime, I am learning how to work with the templates. I’m figuring out the social aspects. I am reading other people’s blogs and drawing inspiration from them. I’m not doing great right now but I’m already doing better than I was two weeks ago. Two weeks from now I will be even better, I hope.  

I think that’s an important thing to talk about because I know a lot of people are paralyzed by their need for perfection. It’s not just me. It’s a hard place to live. It’s a bad neighborhood. You’re afraid to success and afraid to fail so you do nothing and then you hate yourself for doing nothing.  

Well, not you. Me. We’re talking about me here. As always. 

Is this relatable, though? Has anyone reading this felt the same way I do now? What helped you to realize that you’re not necessarily going to be perfect right out of the gate and that it’s okay to be vulnerable and give yourself the chance to make mistakes in the pursuit of becoming better?

16 thoughts on “The first few months of blogging. ”

  1. Regina, it’s a mistake every time I post an article. The good news is, it’s my readers who are punished, not me. We’re all a work in progress vis a vis blogging. Just enjoy the trip while you refine your art.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol! I can totally relate. I am a perfectionist in a lot of things and this is probably the reason why I don’t pursue a lot of my dreams…I always feel what I do is not good enough. I just remind myself I’m human “born to make the stupidest mistakes ever” laugh at myself and keep trying 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The blog I’m on now is, I can’t even remember now, but it’s probably my seventh attempt at keeping a blog. Started it last month. I wanted it to be perfect right out of the gate, too, but I know that shit isn’t going to happen. So… I just post whatever comes to mind and if people like it, then, wonderful! If not, then wonderful! Still writing for myself because it’s been cathartic af. Now on to you… I’ve seriously been loving reading what you write. Like the others have said, keep it up! Whether you think it’s a shit post or your magnum opus, we wanna read it. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I plan to keep it up but we will see. I’m glad I’m not alone with the several attempts at blogging. I think it’s really smart what you said about just writing for yourself. This is the most I e written since I was in school and I forgot how much I enjoy it. I’m glad some people are liking my writing. It you’re right, it doesn’t really matter. I’m having fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Blogging for me was always kind of a bizarre thing until I got on WP. Mostly I blogged on websites where I had a lot of friends and looking back it was kind of weird.

    I don’t think anyone IRL knows me from my WP blog, and I kind of like that because it gives me a better platform to write about myself, my adventures, my crazy redneck family, without feared reproductions.

    When it comes to posts, though, I’m a bit of a perfectionist. For instance, I will reread my posts and go back and fix errors, picture orientations, add updates… Maybe a little OCD, but when I started using a sig, I had to go back and add my sig to all my posts.

    But keep up the good work. You’ll get it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I totally get wanting to keep your blog family separate from the people you know in real life. My two best friends have asked about my blog and I refuse to tell them its name or where to find it and I hope they never figure it out. I’m not going to say anything bad about them. I would just feel way more self conscious if I knew that they were reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You are doing a great job. I think most of us feel self-conscious when we post something. There are days when I feel sick to my stomach and wonder what the hell I was thinking. But despite that fear, I still hit publish and walk away from the computer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! It gets a little easier with each post but I’m still pretty insecure every time I hit publish. I still go back and edit things several times after I’ve published them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

