Humor

YouTube is a Gateway Drug

I can’t remember the last time I watched an actual tv show on my phone or tablet. I just watch YouTube. I’m obsessed with YouTube. It has changed my life. 


I guess I didn’t really understand YouTube for years. I thought it was just cat videos and clips from old tv shows, honey badgers. I didn’t realize that there is a whole community of people who make their living shooting videos of their lives and I fucking love it. It really quenches my voyeuristic thirst. Normally that only gets quenched in the summer, when Big Brother’s on. This year I haven’t been that into Big Brother. It’s probably because I’m always on YouTube. 


Typically for me, the way I use YouTube is that I get on there, find some people that interest me and then watch basically all their videos. Then I find a new person, usually through their collaborations with the previous person and I watch all of their videos. Then I find other new people and repeat repeat repeat. I still don’t think I’m doing it right. Now that I’ve watched the complete playlists of several people, I obviously watch all their new videos when they come out but I’m always looking for new people to binge watch. In my opinion, it’s way more interesting than television. 


Of course I also watch instructional videos. I mostly watch beauty gurus because that’s what I’m interested in right now but you can find videos on how to do anything on YouTube. Anything. My husband has fixed several things wrong with our cars, our house, even our electronic devices. YouTube can save you so much money on home repair. Even more so if you think about how few things you can break if all you do is sit around and watch YouTube. 


Probably the best thing YouTube has done for me, though, is getting me to actually start this blog. I have had blogs for years, I’ve had this blog for years, but I never posted anything. I would have so many posts in my draft folders but I never posted a thing. By watching my favorite youtubers and realizing that they weren’t necessarily beautiful, or exceptionally smart or funny (most of them are at least one of these things but not always)but they all had these three things in common:

  1. They were all being their authentic selves. 
  2. They were persistent and consistently put out content
  3. They didn’t live or die by what people thought about them in the comment section. 

    It made me think, “hey, I can do that, too.” I’m not ready to put my face all over the Internet (and no one else is ready for me to do that either) but I can put my writing on the internet and I can be myself. Hopefully some people will like me and hopefully the ones that don’t will just shut the fuck up about it but even if they don’t, I’ll be alright. 


    Whenever I would get scared to post my writing in the past, I just didn’t post it. Now, even when I feel discouraged because I had a few posts in a row that no one liked, or I’m just doubting myself in general, I think of all my little YouTube friends and how they’ve made whole careers for themselves. Just using their own ambition and some editing equipment. They really have inspired me to carry on. 


    I know that’s not very funny but I mean it sincerely. Just having this creative outlet has helped me so much. I don’t think I’ll ever make money doing this and that’s fine. I’ve met some really great people. I’ve got a lot off my chest. Most importantly, I’ve gotten back into the habit of writing again which is almost like meditation to me. 


    So if you guys have a problem with me, take it up with Grace Helbig. 


    I’m going to go watch YouTube now. 

    <a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/gate/”>Gate</a&gt;

    6 thoughts on “YouTube is a Gateway Drug”

    1. I didn’t really start watching Youtube until a few summers ago when I started making “afternoon quiet time” a thing with my son because by 2pm I was just so exhausted I couldn’t deal with him anymore.

      There are some YouTubers that are super popular who just drive me up the wall–Shane Dawson, PewDiePie and Graveyard Girl in particular. I cannot STAND the sound of her voice..it’s like nails on a chalkboard for me.

      I do have a handful though that I watch on the reg (as the kids say now)–Facts (because Irish people trying ANYTHING is usually pretty hilarious), EllkoNYC (though she hasn’t published a video in months thanks to her own mental health issues. D:), Threadbangers (I ❤ Rob and Corinne), Hellthy Junkfood, Rosanna Pansino (she is my culinary spirit animal LOL), Dollightful (because I will never be brave enough to try that shit on my own) and Ask A Mortician. I've actually gotten to meet Rosanna Pansino..for about 30 seconds.

      A couple of years ago she put out a cookbook and was doing a book tour. We drove for an hour and a half in the pouring ass rain to stand inside a very hot, overcrowded bookstore in the middle of a mall to get an autographed copy and a picture. She'd lost her voice because of all the talking she'd been doing but she didn't want to cancel the gig, so she just kind of whispered. She found it hilarious that she and my son (who was 11 at the time I think) were the same exact height. I joked that she was so teeny I wanted to just stick her in my pocket and take her home with me, at which point she kind of laughed and then mimed jumping into my pants pocket.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol! I’ve heard of some of those people. I still have lots to learn about YouTube. There is something on there to appeal to everyone’s taste. I will check out some of the people you mentioned.

        Like

    2. I think I already told you I’m a BB fanatic but I have to say I genuinely do not care for pretty much every single person in the house this season. Maybe I should just start watching YouTube more.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree. I’ve tried so very hard to get into BB this year. Usually I am glued to the live feeds and twitter, keeping up to date. This year I go to the live feeds and leave instantly. I am finally caught up with the shows. Maybe that will help but it’s a pretty lackluster cast this year. Also, I liked Paul last year but I think it sucks that he is the only vet they brought back, then they gave him three weeks of immunity and then they made that HOH challenge he won practically identical to the one he hosted on BBOTT last fall and how did he do SO much better than every other person on that airport veto challenge? Something seems unfair about it all. Plus, I don’t know if I can take another season of everyone saying “pissed”, “sketch”, “friendship”, and “never cared”. I wish they had brought victor back instead.

        Like

    Leave a Reply

    